In order to minimize impacts that could come from having to turn too many lights on at larger arenas such as the previously announced Budweiser Events Center, the NCAA Men’s Ice Hockey Committee announced this morning that it will be revising the bubble locations to a set of host schools with some of the smaller facilities in Division I ice hockey: Ferris State University, Robert Morris University, Sacred Heart University and Long Island University.

“Some of these larger venues are going to be needed as distribution centers for COVID-19 vaccines,” a spokesperson told reports on a phone conference, “so the NCAA has made the decision to relocate to places which don’t have sufficient capacity to likely be useful for community health, such as the Ewigleben Ice Arena in Big Rapids, Michigan.”

When asked why Arizona State wasn’t selected as a host school, the spokesperson explained that while the selected facilities were too small to be useful for public health centers, the Oceanside Ice Arena was also too small for hockey.

Cover photo courtesy Mike Anleitner.

Alex Slepak is the former Editor-in-Chief of Tech Hockey Guide. Alex was a Student Conductor of the Huskies Pep Band and graduated from MTU in 2014 with a B.S. in Scientific and Technical Communication. After graduating, he moved to the Twin Cities where he now writes software manuals for a living.


  1. After further review, the NCAA withdrew the invitation to Ferris State, as they were concerned that old hockey pucks stuck above the insulation scrim at Ewigleben Ice Arena might inadvertently fall onto the ice during play, confusing the game officials.

Comments are closed.