As a writer for Tech Hockey Guide I was given the opportunity to vote for All-WCHA Awards by A Tradition of Excellence. We were asked to vote for First, Second and Third Team All-WCHA, an All-Rookie Team as well as some individual awards; Rookie, Player, Defenseman and Coach of the Year. The results of everyone polled can be found here. And below is how I votes:

All-WCHA First Team

F – Ryan Walters, Nebraska-Omaha

F – Erik Haula, Minnesota

F – Danny Kristo, North Dakota

D – Nate Schmidt, Minnesota

D – Nick Jensen, St. Cloud State

G – Stephon Williams, Minnesota State


All-WCHA Second Team

F – Rylan Schwartz, CC

F – Corban Knight, North Dakota

F – Drew LeBlanc, St. Cloud State

D – Mike Boivin, CC

D – Joey LaLeggia, Denver

G – Adam Wilcox, Minnesota


All-WCHA Third Team

F – Josh Archibald, Nebraska-Omaha

F – Matt Leitner, Minnesota State

F – Alex Petan, Michigan Tech

D – Jake McCabe, Wisconsin

D – Steven Seigo, Michigan Tech

G – Ryan Faragher, St. Cloud State


All-WCHA Rookie Team

F – Alex Petan, Michigan Tech

F – Tony Cameranesi, Minnesota-Duluth

F – Kalle Kossila, Minnesota State

D – Mike Reilly Minnesota

D – Nolan Zajac, Denver

G – Stephon Williams, Minnesota State


WCHA Player of the Year – Ryan Walters, Nebraska-Omaha

WCHA Defensive Player of the Year – Nate Schmidt, Minnesota

WCHA Rookie of the Year – Alex Petan, Michigan Tech

WCHA Coach of the Year – Mike Hastings, Minnesota State

Tim is a 2004 graduate of Michigan Tech. He is a co-founder of both Mitch’s Misfits and Tech Hockey Guide. With recent additions to the staff, Tim is again able to focus on his passion, recruiting. He currently works as an environmental engineer and resides in the Minneapolis/St. Paul Area.