The WCHA as we know it will be changing in the 2013-2014 season. It has been well documented by now that Minnesota and Wisconsin will be leaving for the Big Ten conference and North Dakota, Minnesota Duluth, Nebraska-Omaha, Denver and Colorado College will all be leaving for the National Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC). It is also known that Northern Michigan has accepted an invite into the WCHA, so the conference stood at 6 members, Michigan Tech, St Cloud State, Minnesota State-Mankato, Bemidji State, Anchorage, and Northern Michigan.

This past week, the WCHA extended invites to 5 members of the current CCHA for membership in the 2013-2014 season. The teams invited are Lake Superior State, Western Michigan, Bowling Green, Alaska and Ferris State.  Lake Superior and Alaska accepted membership into the WCHA the same day.

“Michigan Tech has taken a leadership role in expanding the WCHA membership to ensure the long-term viability and success of the league”  Michigan Tech Athletic Director, Suzanne Sanregret stated. “We believe the expansion of the WCHA to include the above five schools are positive moves for MTU and good for the future of the league and college hockey.”

Suzanne continued, stating that “All schools in attendance are committed to having successful Division I programs” and that this move will be advantageous to Michigan Tech and the rest of the league.

Recent reports have rumored St. Cloud State may be moving in 2013-2014 as well, showing that the look of college hockey has not stopped and will continue to change moving closer to the start of the 2013-2014 season.

What is known is that Michigan Tech will survive and will look to become a leader on and off the ice in the future of the WCHA.